The Time Before and the Time of Social Media

JOUR 4460 Blog #2

By: Sarah Copeland

Back when I was in elementary school I remember always being jealous of my older sister. One day every year my dad would take her to work with him. It wasn’t until second or third grade that my dad finally took me to work with him instead of my sister. Honestly, I’m pretty sure I thought it was boring. My dad is an electrical engineer. Now I don’t know much about engineering but as a kid I would probably have told you all they do is sit at a desk and work on computers all day in a cubicle.

I didn’t want to disturb my dad while he was working so I decided to amuse myself by drawing on his whiteboard. Another thing to know about me is that I’m not a talented artist in the slightest. However, I managed to draw a rather impressive troll head. I can’t say what made me want to draw something like that but I was very proud of my troll. At that point my memory starts to fade and I’m not quite sure what happened after. I’d like to think that my dad snapped a picture of the troll for me before he erased it. Or even that he kept it up for a few days after I came to work with him.

Times have changed so much since I was a little kid. I grew up during a time when my family only owned one television, had one phone that ,yes, was up on the wall, hooked up to a landline. I grew up when cell phones went from looking like a giant brick to being smaller than your hand. I was in high school before I got my first cell phone. That was about the same time Facebook became popular and social media started to boom.

This week my communications class began setting up all the social media sites we’d need for this semester. I was never quite into Twitter or following what people posted, but social networks have become increasingly important, especially in the PR field. Consider how news is actually breaking on Twitter before major news networks. And all presidential candidates are represented on Twitter, a helpful tool during election years like this one. Communication has never been more accessible or helpful. Either you use social media to your full advantage or you don’t. From what I’m learning I’d suggest the former.

social-media-and-society-01_zpsd105a974Photo Taken from Seochat

With all the technology available today, I wonder how different my childhood would have been if the same advances were available then. For instance, would my dad have taken a picture of my drawing and posted it to Facebook or Instagram? Or maybe even have sent my mother a Snapchat of it? Would he have tweeted about take your daughter to work day with a reasonable hashtag? How many different ways would I have been able to save and share that memory? I’m happy I can still remember the days without social media. Now I just have to get used to every day with it.

 

References:

ASAE ® The Center for Association Leadership. (n.d.). Retrieved January 29, 2016, from http://www.asaecenter.org/Education/trends.cfm?ItemNumber=53823

Social Media and Society: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly. (2013). Retrieved January 29, 2016, from http://www.seochat.com/c/a/social/social-media-and-society-the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly/

The Impact of Social Media on Society – Business Opportunities. (2015). Retrieved January 29, 2016, from http://www.business-opportunities.biz/2015/02/19/impact-social-media-society/

 

Author: Sarah Copeland

I am a Strategic Communications student at the University of North Texas majoring in Public Relations with a minor in European History. I expect to graduate May 2017 and find a career in External Relations maybe focusing on Issues Management. I am also a proud member of my Alpha Delta Pi chapter where I hold the Intramural's officer position. I am also a member of the Alpha Lambda Delta Honors Society as well as the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. When I am not attending classes, I work in retail. I am a former manager at Justice Just for Girls where I worked for over two years until my store closed. I am currently working for Gymboree as a Sales Lead manager. My work is enjoyable most when I am able to help customers and also when interesting conversations arise. In my free time I enjoy reading fiction novels, completing jigsaw puzzles, watching movies, playing practically any sport, and eating as much ice cream and and other desserts as possible.

Leave a Reply

