An Around the Clock Gig

By: Sarah Copeland

My mom was always a hard working teacher. I remember seeing her at the kitchen table every night grading papers. She still, to this day, sits at the kitchen table and grades papers. She never took a break. Even on vacations, over spring or winter break, she would bring a pile of papers to grade with her. One thing she told me was to never, ever, become a teacher. Her reasoning? She wanted me to be able to come home and sit on the couch like my dad could.

Well, that didn’t exactly happen. I didn’t become a teacher, but I did choose a career path that has no guarantee of relaxation at the end of the work day.

PR work hoursImage Source

Any professional in the field of PR will tell you that thing have changed. PR cannot be done the way it used to be, it is simply not the same. Now, it’s an around the clock gig.

With the rise in social media, and honestly technology in general, news never stops. That means problems always happen and therefore, somebody always needs to be aware of those issues. PR professionals need to know what is going on, all the time. It’s a 24/7 job, plain and simple.

As part of my classes my professor wanted all of us to be ready for crises at any moment. She told us that, as part of this career, we may have to work weekends with no forewarning. She prompted us with a crisis drill. All of us who were aware (aka had our emails linked to our phones) saw that she had posted a drill and we had to solve it within 24 hours. Lucky me, I have work that day. Of course, at least hopefully, I won’t have another job when I go into the field of PR.

The point is, in PR, you never know when something is going to happen and require your attention and work. This isn’t something you can leave at the office. This isn’t something you can forget about when the weekend arrives. It is truly a 24/7 job that never stops.

At least I’ll never be bored!

References

Public Relations Graduate Working Hours. (n.d.). Retrieved February 12, 2016, from http://www.thejobcrowd.com/careers/advertising-marketing-and-pr/public-relations-0/working-hours

Public Relations is a 24/7 Task. (2010). Retrieved February 12, 2016, from http://www.ereleases.com/prfuel/public-relations-247-task/

Rebeck, G. (2015, November 25). 24/7 Public Relations. Retrieved February 12, 2016, from http://tcbmag.com/Industries/Marketing,-Advertising,-PR-and-Media/24-7-Public-Relations

Author: Sarah Copeland

I am a Strategic Communications student at the University of North Texas majoring in Public Relations with a minor in European History. I expect to graduate May 2017 and find a career in External Relations maybe focusing on Issues Management. I am also a proud member of my Alpha Delta Pi chapter where I hold the Intramural's officer position. I am also a member of the Alpha Lambda Delta Honors Society as well as the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. When I am not attending classes, I work in retail. I am a former manager at Justice Just for Girls where I worked for over two years until my store closed. I am currently working for Gymboree as a Sales Lead manager. My work is enjoyable most when I am able to help customers and also when interesting conversations arise. In my free time I enjoy reading fiction novels, completing jigsaw puzzles, watching movies, playing practically any sport, and eating as much ice cream and and other desserts as possible.

Leave a Reply

